Posted on

Super salad? (think about it…)

  • the ability to speak and understand any language
  • the ability to travel through time
  • the ability to make any two people agree with each other

Which would I choose?

First, the ones I wouldn’t choose and why. I’m really skeptical about the last one. It does say the power to make any two people agree, but does that mean that they understand one another? If I had the power to make any two people agree with each other, does that mean that I can include myself? If I had the power to make any two people really FEEL eachother, then I know that I wouldn’t have arguments with my mom. She doesn’t really understand some things.

I wouldn’t choose the first one, surprisingly. While it would be funny to be able to speak any language and troll my friends, I love the challenge of learning a language. I’ve been trying to teach myself Japanese for a while now, and it is really fun to try to figure out how to put the words together. It is like a puzzle that I can put together and laugh at myself when I get it wrong. Maybe this kind of relationship with language has something to do with the way my mom raised me. When I was little, she taped note cards with words on them to every surface of the house. One day, she moved the cards, and when my bro and I noticed, we started “earning” words by putting them in the right spot. We would have our cards and could make sentences like “The blue cat ate the purple rug.” It was endless fun and it still is today.

The one I would choose is The time travel one, however, it sounds a bit sketchy. This especially since language is mentioned separately. If I could time travel, I would want to do it Doctor Who style. You know… pop right out of the T.A.R.D.I.S and be able to understand the people of the time. If language is included in a nicely packaged deal, then I’m sold straight away! I would love to see the world… I would love to see the world of the past… I would like to see how people walked and talked in the past. I think I would try to stay away from the future, though. I’m not a fan of spoilers as it is, so I wouldn’t like that very much.

Leave a Reply

